JRN 493 Week 2: Present and Future Goals

This class, from what I understand, is supposed to help me chronicle what I’m learning and what I learn in my experiences at Allscripts. Allscripts, too, has a measurable way to chronicle what I’m learning; they have us set goals at the beginning of the year. That’s what I’m doing this week.

Or, at least, that’s what I’m trying to do. I always have trouble formulating goals. Not because I don’t know what I want to accomplish this year, but because it’s harder to say exactly the steps you take to accomplish it. Or, if the goal is something like “get better at x” when do you know you’re “better?”

There’s a second aspect to formulating goals for Allscripts that you also have to take into account: It matters to middle and upper management if you hit the goals you set for yourself. You get, not necessarily punished, but not rewarded for not hitting goals. This means it’s easy to create goals you know you can reach given the full year, even if you don’t think that’ll show much progress.

So far, my goals are to take a few classes to get a deeper understanding of our in-house standards and styles system, understand the application that I work on well enough to present it to my co-workers (application function frequently cross over, so it’s good for the left hand to know what the right is up to), and communicate better with my (mostly remote) application team.

All of those goals are definitely reachable within the year, which makes me feel good about them. And accomplishing those goals will definitely make me a more effective and productive worker, which makes Allscripts feel good about them. So now, the only thing left to do is go out and accomplish said goals. I have the whole year, and if I hit any benchmarks (when I give the application presentation, for example) I’ll be sure to blog about it. See you around.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

